Home > Uncategorized > Lets Get This Party Started

Lets Get This Party Started

Due to the circumstances of the last couple of weeks I have been taking a different train in the mornings and at a different time of day. Not a very exciting piece of information ill grant you but it has exposed me to different people than the usual pre-8am zombies that I normally join on my way to work.

Whilst on one such journey last week I overheard 3 young men, late teens or early twenties having a conversation about a house party they had attended recently, this eventually led on to stories of previous house parties that they had been to and some enlightening anecdotes in to the world of today’s youth.

What I heard, I have to say was pretty appalling and what more was more shocking was the amusement that they found in the events.

Now I feel I should first point out, these where not the monosyllabic, Burberry wearing “chavs” that you would expect this kind of behaviour from, based on their dress sense and accent they would have been more at home at the RGS than Jamie’s Dream School.

One story started off stating that due to people finding the party not up to scratch, the attendees decided to wreck the hosts house, resulting in such hi-jinks as stealing the Microwave, TV and just about anything else that wasn’t nailed down, the storyteller did point out that he wasn’t involved in such acts, he simply helped himself the totally acceptable party bag of a “few DVDs and 360 Games.”

Another went on to laugh at the misfortune of their rich friend who lived in a million pound country house, who not only had their house trashed, 5 aside football played in their front room, and various items removed  from the house, but also had their two expensive sports cars stolen in the early hours of the morning.

Hilarious, i’m sure you’ll agree.

Tragic as these things are, you would at least hope, these things where insured and whilst that won’t have done much to relieve the distress caused by this betrayal by your friends, at least the possessions will have been replaced. Something unlikely to help the host of the last party mentioned.

In my eyes the worst one however was the person who took the ill advised notion to have a house party on Xmas Eve. The glee with which these young men explained how they found the platters of buffet food all prepared for the family visit on Xmas day, then decided to eat said fare, as well as stealing/breaking the various Xmas presents they found upon their ransack of the house, and setting fire to their christmas tree.  Merry Christmas.

With friends like these who needs enemies.

I’m no stranger to the house party, I had my share of them as a younger man, and even had one that ended with my mothers jewellery being stolen and one of the guests being arrested later that night for brandishing a replica gun in the high street, I used to hang out with a different crowd back in those days.

However this was far from the norm and I can promise you, neither me nor any of my other guests found this the least bit amusing then or do so now.

The rise in unemployment, the recession, binge drinking and a million other excuses are often trotted out as reasons for the behaviour of young people today, which in its worst form led to the shocking scenes of the London Riots.

But for me the totally sober, middle class recollections of these college attending young men just proved to reaffirm my belief that whilst we might try to justify this behaviour with terms like ADHD or put it down to poor social backgrounds, actually there are just an awful lot of young people out there that are simply twats.

 

  1. March 19, 2012 at 11:45 am

    I like the close. Nicely done!

  2. July 10, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure
    whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such
    detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful!

    Thanks!

  3. July 13, 2014 at 4:07 am

    What’s up, I read your new stuff like every week.
    Your humoristic style is awesome, keep it up!

  1. June 1, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

