Home > Uncategorized > Putting it out there

Putting it out there

I’m tired of saying it this month, but it’s been a tough week, hence the lack of posts over the last few days.

As I don’t have much in the way of opinion, or funny anecdotes to share with you I thought I might go back to the heart of the this blog.

With that in mind below you will see my first piece of “writing” that I have subjected to the public domain. It’s short. I don’t know where, if anywhere it is going, and it may just have been a whimsical 10 minutes that led me to write this and it will be never seen again, but hey I thought I might as well share it and get the public vote.

On a side note this is not anything to do with the “project” that led me to start this blog in the first place which sadly is still stuck right where it was without a single sentence added. Whilst this blog is obviously encouraging me to write something, as of yet it has not helped me push “so far untitled” (Just in case you wondered thats the reason for the name of the Blog) any further along.

Hopefully that will change, I think my problem is the planning, much as with the piece below I’m ok at beginnings, I can maybe even get as far as having an ending in mind, but middles; no chance.

Its putting the flesh on the bones of an idea that I find so tough, connecting A to C via B.

Anyway I hope you enjoy this (very) short introduction to something that may or may not turn into an idea for the future. Please keep in mind this is at best a 1st draft, and at worst is the scribblings on my notepad. So don’t be too harsh.

 

 The last thing I remember of my home is the night in the waterfront tavern, not the safest place to be, but I loved it there. With a glass of cheap wine or on occasion, rum in my hand, I could sit and listen to the sailors tell their stories of exotic places and the beautiful women they had met on their voyages. It was perhaps these stories that led me that night, my eyes heavy with tiredness and drink to declare my wish to join them, sail the seven seas and witness such riches as they had.

If I learnt one thing that night it was not to take a man at his word when he had rum flowing through his veins. Unfortunately my companions had learnt no such lesson.

I don’t remember leaving the tavern or how many more drinks I consumed or with who, the first thing I do remember, is the screeching of seagulls wheeling above, their cries stabbing through my throbbing head like knives.

I figured I had stumbled, collapsed and fallen asleep in a drunken stupor on the docks, but as I opened my eyes, squinting against the bright sunlight I realized this was not the case, I was on a ship; with that realization the ship rocked to the rhythm of the sea and I felt a wave of nausea come over me.

That morning is perhaps the most miserable of my life, although the following weeks were comparable. I found myself aboard the Vera Cruz, a Merchant vessel bound for the new world.

Since tales of riches beyond imagining and entire cities built of gold had been coming back from the Americas, every captain was trying to join one or the other of the fleets bound for this bountiful land.

I took a few weeks to find my sea legs as the other sailors called them and my constant vomiting was a great source of a amusement to the veteran sailors, however the captain didn’t share there amusement and my already wretched journey into seamanship was increased by the lashes I received for not pulling my weight.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 29, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Way to go! It’s a start- and every great story begins with a start!

    “ONCE UPON A TIME when the world was young there was a Martian named Smith.”

    “His followers called him Mahasamatman and said he was a god. He preferred to drop the Maha- and the -atman, however, and called himself Sam. He never claimed to be a god. But then, he never claimed not to be a god. ”

    “ON THOSE CLOUDY DAYS, Robert Neville was never sure when sunset came, and sometimes they were in the streets before he could get back.”

    They all have to start somewhere. Now you’ve started something- excelsior!

  1. April 17, 2012 at 11:12 pm
  2. April 22, 2012 at 9:29 pm
  3. May 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

