Home > Writing > Making Progress

Making Progress

I had a day off from work to day and it was pretty damn productive.

For the first time in a long time I spent time actually writing more of SFU. I added another thousand words to my story and worked out exactly what is happening in Chapter 2 and what I want it to contain.

Now I appreciate in the scheme of things a thousand words isn’t a lot, but it’s something I am personally proud of; it’s a thousand more than yesterday and more importantly a thousand more than two weeks ago when I posted So far Untitled – Critique Wanted.

It’s the first time that I have sat down and written where I have actually added something to the story as opposed to just rewriting areas of the part I already had. 

It started off pretty tough, as I mentioned in The Best of Intentions I had made a start on Chapter two, but after a mere 108 words I had dried up and couldn’t continue. Today didn’t start any better, I spent at least half the time that I was writing rereading those 108 words and trying to find the next line, or writing then swiftly deleting what I had written over and over again.

Eventually I decided sod it, I’m just going to keep going. If I don’t like what I come up with I can always go back and change it but if I don’t write the next sentence sometime soon then I probably never will.

Looking back at what I have written today, it’s not bad. It’s not great either, it’s going to need a lot of work, but ploughing through finally allowed me to continue with the storyline and flesh out the rest of the chapter. I can work on the fine detail and refinement when revisit it.

Hopefully based on breaking through this barrier I should be able to continue to write tomorrow, put more time in and get more words down on the page. And if that happens I may well be able to, at some point over the next month, achieve my goal of sharing Chapter 2 with you guys for your feedback.

  1. May 1, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Two thumbs up man! I have been woefully unproductive in my writing but every time I read your updates I get a little more motivated. Keep it up!

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks! hadnt seen you post either on your own blog or here for a while, thought I had lost my most positive supporter! 😀

  2. May 5, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    A thousand words is always better than no words at all.

    Sometimes you just have to power through a scene or a sentence just so you can get to the next one. There will always be time to edit and revise but until you pump out that first draft you have nothing to revise

  1. May 18, 2012 at 8:04 pm
  2. August 5, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

