Home > Uncategorized > If you have the Kai Discipline of Camouflage, turn to 237. If you do not, turn to 72.

If you have the Kai Discipline of Camouflage, turn to 237. If you do not, turn to 72.

Mycyoa022 new found enthusiasm for SFU, the characters in it and the world that they live in got me thinking back on what exactly it was that drew me to the fantasy genre.

Whilst now day’s Fantasy has become a lot more mainstream, with the blockbuster movies, TV shows and computer games, when I was younger we were limited more interactive and significantly less “cool” ways of enjoying our chosen genre.

I started with the staple book of the young boy during the 80’s, the “choose your own adventure” I distinctly remember owning a copy of “Space Patrol” and know I had others but couldn’t tell you the names, as I grew more advanced I moved onto the “Lone Wolf” series, again I specifically remember reading “Fire on the Water” and bizarrely (at least I think it is) borrowing them from my local library. Considering the Lone Wolf ones required you actually writing in them for your hit points etc I can’t Imagine they lasted long.DiffLW02a

At this point I started reading the Mossflower and Duncton Wood series, books that I genuinely look forward to introducing my own children to one day.

From here I moved onto the obvious, the Hobbit and LOTR’s entered my life, they were a bit harder to read but damn they where epic!

But the series that really captivated me and hooked me firmly in the Fantasy genre has to be Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern. I distinctly remember a visit to the Natural History museum of all places and picking “The White Dragon” of the shelf in the gift store, Jaxom and Ruth Are still two of my favourite characters ever. 

Along with all this reading was the Games Workshop Hobby, I started by playing Heroquest and later Warhammer Quest and then moving on into the full blown Warhammer universe. Many a Saturday and Sunday where spent over a dining room table covered with a green sheet and some polystyrene hills.

As time went on the internet came calling and I remember the jealousy I felt that my friend got his broadband through AOL and was able to play “Legends of Terris”, which to me at the time was the epitome of gaming, I found a substitute in “Divine Blood” but it was never quite as good.

Eventually my reading took me to Jordan, Goodkind and Erikson, my gaming to Azeroth, Tamriel  and Runeterra.

Its kinda of funny but it seems I’ve gone circle and now it really is time to “Choose my Own Adventure”  but this time I get to make my own rules.

  1. March 25, 2013 at 11:49 pm

    God we are a pair of geeks!

  2. March 26, 2013 at 1:13 am

    You had me at “Choose Your Own Adventure.” 🙂

  1. March 27, 2013 at 11:34 pm
  2. March 31, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

