Home > Writing > Writting Tools

Writting Tools

As part of my goal for World Creation and general forward movement with SFU I started researching what tools are available for us writers, world builders, Gods if you will, to use when starting our very own Genesis.

I have touched on Maps in a previous post, although I shall revisit them in more detail over the month, today I thought I would focus on Writing Tools.

Like a many of you I’m sure I use Microsoft Word for pretty much all my writing needs, whilst it’s great for letters and documents, I feel it perhaps leaves something lacking as a creative writing tool.

So I set about finding what could replace it.

  win-3screensThe first piece of software that I can across was Scrivener, this is once nifty piece of software, it’s a little daunting when you first open it up, it is not your average Word processing program.

With this program you can map out you entire story, colour code until your heart’s content, split your novel by character, location, whatever you want. You can have all the research associated with your novel, pictures, YouTube clip, documents you name it they call all be on hand at the click of a button, all in one place.

I’ve Downloaded the trial and started messing around with it a little, its only downside that I can see so far is the £29 ($40) price point, but I can see this being wort01_chrono_viewh it!

SCRIVENER TRIAL

The next stop was Storybook. Essentially this is an Open source version of Scrivener, some of the features are different, and it doesn’t have the cool corkboard effect that I found pretty exciting in Scriviner, and overall it feels a little like Scriviner Lite. It is however FREE, and if you want all the bells and whistles there is a Storybook Pro option however this is a similar price to Scrivener and if I was paying I think I stick with that.

STORYBOOK FULL

Preview1The third option I found was Liquid Story Binder XE, it’s more of the same idea which isn’t surprising if it isn’t broken don’t fix it. What does appeal to me about Liquid is that it does seem to have been designed specifically with Fiction writing in mind

LIQUID STORY BINDER XE TRIAL

I don’t know if any of these will help me (or you) with your writing but i’m going to give them a go and see what happens, let me know if you use this or any other software to help with your writing and what your opinions on them are!

  1. March 30, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Thank you! This does a lot of work for me. I’ve been using Evernote for a lot of my organization then backing it up to Word, but it could be way more useful. I’ll be testing these softwares out. It never even crossed my mind for some reason!

  2. kevinlaroy88
    March 31, 2013 at 3:19 am

    Thank you for this. I am old school and just keep a running “encyclopedia” in a sketch book (I don’t like the lines of most journals – too restrictive), but I really like the idea of Scrivener. I’ll look into it for work on my “A New World’s Dawning” Trilogy.

  3. April 2, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    I picked up Scrivener early last year and it quickly became my “all-purpose, I use it for everything” writing program. I think, with what you get, the price tag is actually kind of low (compared to the price of a video game, say).

  4. August 13, 2013 at 10:06 am

    Amazing! Its truly remarkable post, I have
    got much clear idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

  1. March 31, 2013 at 5:54 pm
  2. April 16, 2013 at 10:03 pm
  3. December 1, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

