Home > Uncategorized > In Theory it works…..

In Theory it works…..

Considering my age it may surprise you to know that I do not have a driving licence, this isn’t due to being a menace on the roads, some medical condition or failing so many times that I simply gave up.

I have just never had the need or desire to drive, I’ve been happy to take the train, ride the bus or hail a taxi.

To rectify this, with a lot of love and a little bit of ulterior motive (apparently she would like to drink once in a while when we go out) Wife bought me Driving Lessons for Christmas.

I’ve been chugging along for the past few months, enjoying it more than I thought I would if I’m honest. I have actually been looking forward to getting my licence and getting my own car.

A little over a week ago I took the first step on the last stretch of this journey by having my theory test. Prior to taking it I was a little cocky, I had done the practice questions on the PC program and based on the simplicity of the answers and the general rule that the answer is always “go slower” I couldn’t  imagine anyone, let alone me failing this test.

I had however forgotten the Hazard Perception test.

After a reading the blurb and watching the introduction video I decided to jump straight into the practice exams this time, no “learning” just straight in, I was after all on a high from my knowledge that only a fool could fail this test.

I was wrong, the “anti cheat” thing is frankly a little too zealous, or alternatively I’m just a really cautious driver. After practicing the same test about 10 times I eventually got the when to click down, so it no longer thought I was attempting to cheat the system, I can tell you however those few hours when I was constantly failing really knocked my confidence. Eventually however I had got the hang of it and was acing the tests, I was back in full confidence mode!

If my pre-exam nerves were not enough on the Friday night, Wife decided this was the perfect time to subject me to Miserable Les, I’ve seen the live show I wasn’t impressed with that, and at risk of alienating every female on the internet I wasn’t impressed with the film either.

Anyways back to the test, after the 158 minutes of my life I will never get back, and the number of beers required to sit through that I decided that I should do a spate of a test tests, that was a bad idea, it was the Hazard perception Test all over again.

I completed 7 test theory’s that night, and I failed 7 test theory’s. Considering it was now 2am and I had my actual test at 8am the following morning, it’s safe to say my hops where not high.

BUT it paid off!

The following morning during my actually test, I knew exactly the speed at which a Car towing a caravan is legally allowed to go, the three situations in which you may overtake another vehicle on the left and what the fucK this sign means!

  1. June 5, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Hopefully this means you got your license or you’re just in the “warm-up” stage before going for the big one. If you got your license, congratz, if not, well, keep trying and you’ll get there.

  2. June 6, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    I dont have my license yet, but I did pass the Theory Exam that I mention in the post. I am now just waiting to book the test in so fingers crossed that will be in the next month or so 😀

  1. June 14, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

