Home > Books > DAY 5. – Your “comfort” book.

DAY 5. – Your “comfort” book.

I’m not entirely sure what the meaning of this one is, I mean comfort book would suggest a book that you read when your feeling down, one that makes you laugh and gives you a general pick me up. But unless your reading something pretty short chances are that your mood will have changed by the time you get half way through.

At the same time if its your go to book the chances are that it would be the answer to topic number six, and if I can help it I want to avoid too much repetition.

In the end I have settled on Mort by Terry Pratchett, this may well also be the answer to number six, but as I have counted I can at least give something else that accolade as there are a number of books that give have captivated me enough to read them more than once, but there are few that I have left me with the warm fuzzy feeling that Mort and to be fair Terry Pratchett does as a whole.

Any visit to the Discworld is a good one but few have had the same impact on me as Mort, for many a year it was my internet handle and I even have a guitar with a Plaque dedicated to me in that name, given to me as a birthday present many years ago by a very thoughtful group of friends!

Mort charts the adventures of Death’s Apprentice and introduces us for the first time to Death as a main character as well as the minions of his household Binky, Ysabell and of course Albert!

  1. Cathie
    September 4, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    I re-read ‘Little Women’ not that long ago for the warm, fuzzy, comforting feeling!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

