Home > Uncategorized > A Geeky fortnight and what I have learnt from it.

A Geeky fortnight and what I have learnt from it.

Over the last two weeks I have been doing some serious geeking out, I have attended Gamescom, played in the Magic the Gathering Grand Prix London, finished Felcia Day’s Book “You’re never Weird on the Internet (Almost) and played a number of PC games including Castle Crashers and Trine 3.

Its been a while since I have had an opportunity to get back to the geekier side of my nature, Joe has been almost surgical in his ability to coincide head injuries and bugs with any “Daddy time” that I manage to carve out for myself.

The only thing I have really found time for is my League of Legends obsession as playing it is normally post Joe’s bedtime and doesn’t require me leaving the house, however the enjoyment I have got out of the last 14 days or so doing other activities has really highlighted to me that I need to be utilizing what time I do get more effectively, whilst I thoroughly enjoy (and despise at the same time) my games of League they are as much to blame if not more so than the impact of any of my Daddy duties.

I realised when i finished Felecia days book that it was only the second one I had read this year (unless funnybones, Thats not my Dragon and Each Peach Pear Plum count), for someone who loves reading and books as much as do this is pretty depressing, I could come up with many excuses such as the fact that I no longer drive to work and drive instead and they would be pseudo true but realistically I haven’t read more than that because I haven’t allocated time to do so.

Whilst playing Trine and Castle Crashers over the weekend and discussing with a friend the merits of various indie titles, it became apparent that I was missing out on a number of really good games and needed to pay my steam account some serious attention (I haven’t even played Portal yet!) A quick look today showed I have 112 titles in my steam library and I have played 5 of them!!

Over the coming weeks I am going to scale back the league and knuckle down on some of my other hobbies and who knows maybe even take a stab at keeping this site ticking over, after all if I am letting my other geeky past times slide I am sure you can imagine how well the writing is coming along….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 17, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Dont stalk me in silence let me know your there!!

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

"To absent friends, lost loves, old gods, and the season of mists; and may each and every one of us always give the devil his due." -Neil Gaiman

Great Books for Children

This is the blog of Falcon Berger books. We publish great books for children, for fun.

Vegging Out

All Things Natural, Local and Nutritionally Good

Wild Night In

Because it doesn't get wilder than a night spent reading and knitting...

lonelyboy1977

Your Future Favourite Fantasy & Science Fiction Author

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

Another World

The Fantasy And Science Fiction Book Blog

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind

