Home > Books > DAY 10. – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

DAY 10. – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

For this subject I would have to say that it would be “Wicked” by Gregory Maguire. “Loving it” is perhaps a little too strong but it’s the closest I can think of.

I’m not entirely sure how I ended up reading it, but I am pretty sure it was a gift from Wife as a way to try and encourage me to go and see the show with her. She knows both my love of books and my loathing of musicals and I think that she thought this would bridge the gap.

Whilst it hasn’t made me any keener to see the show, I did find it a thoroughly enjoyable book; so much so that I went on to read the next two in the series.

As I am sure you know it tells the story of the Wicked Witch of the West, starting well before Dorothy’s visit to Oz and ending with a fateful albeit well intentioned bucket of water.

The story gives you an entirely new perspective on both the events of the Wizard of Oz, the Witch and Oz itself.

I don’t know how close the musical is to the book; although my understanding is that there are significant differences. Whether you are a fan of the musical or just enjoy a good book I recommend giving it a try.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 25, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Leave a comment

Star-Crossed Puzzles

Dare to defy the stars

Lockdown Logs

My Time In Quarantine

Cyber Noir 2020

Look out that window. You've had your time. The future is our world. The future is our time.

Anthony Le Sueur

Author page, home of The Devil's Playbook and other writings.

Cube24

360 Cards - 24 Hours - 1 Mission

@LauraLME

~ Chaotic Structure ~

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Lair of Nate

Thoughts Sculpted Into Words

Hannah Reads Books

This is an archival site for old posts. Visit hannahgivens.com for art, puppetry, and links to any current media commentary.

Wild Night In

Avid reader, language nerd, and fire spinner. No plans to combine the 3 yet...

 At Home With lonelyboy1977

The personal blog of independant author, Ian Gregoire

Changing the world every day

Making a difference... how hard can it be?

K.L. Neri

Through words I can control an entire world.

Meri's Corner

A Writer's Thoughts and Reviews

Armen's Author Page

A Wandering Mind is often a Wondering Mind